3 Celts in running for PFA Scotland Awards


Celtic have three players vying for the end of season PFA Scotland Awards.

Virgil Van Dijk and Stefan Johansen will compete with Greg Stewart and the league’s top scorer Adam Rooney for the prestigious PFA Scotland Premiership Player of the Year award.

With two Celts competing against each other any anti Celtic element should be enough for Rooney to win the award. The player almost joined Celtic before making the move from Inverness to Aberdeen but former Celtic manager Neil Lennon overruled his backroom team to block the move. Alan Thompson was particularly keen on signing Rooney apparently.

Virgil Van Dijk has also been among the goals this season, reaching double figures in last night’s 2-1 victory at Dens Park.

Stefan Johansen has had a fine season in the more advanced role and has already been voted as the CQN Player of the Year after we carried a poll on this site.

Meanwhile Jason Denayer will compete with Ryan Christie, Sam Nicholson and Jamie Walker on the shortlist for Scottish PFA Young Player of the Year award and should be be favorite to win.

So CQN Magazine predicts that Rooney will win the PFA Scotland Player of the Year and that Jason Denayer will head back to Manchester City in the summer as the PFA Scotland Young Player of the Year.


Click Here for Comments >

About Author