CONGRATULATIONS from all at CQNMagazine to the six Celtic players who were voted in the Premiership Team of the Year in the PFA Scotland awards.
Goalkeeper Craig Gordon, central defenders Jason Denayer and Virgil van Dijk and midfielders Stuart Armstrong, Scott Brown and Stefan Johansen were given the nod by their fellow-professionals.
What? No Emilio Izaguirre?
No Leigh Griffiths?
No Kris Commons?
No Nir Bitton?
We could go on – we’ll just have to be content with our Super Six.
Aberdeen pair Shay Logan and Adam Rooney, Inverness Caley Thistle’s Graeme Shinnie, Dundee United’s Nadir Ciftci and Dundee’s Gregg Stewart complete the line-up.
There could be more recognition to come for some of the Hoops stars tonight.Van Dijk and Johansen are vying for the Player of the Year award while Denayer is in the running for the Young Player prize.

In a recent Poll carried out by the Aberdeen based Press & Journal newspaper Stefan Johansen got the nod ahead of Virgil Van Dijk with Aberdeen’s Adam Rooney having to settle for third spot. The paper didn’t publicise the results though – wonder why?Double winning Ronny Deila,  empty handed Derek McInnes (Aberdeen), John ‘lucky’ Hughes (Caley Thistle) and lower league Robbie Neilson (Hearts) are in contention for the Manager of the Year title with the guy who arrived in a new country, on his own and who went on to win the league and a cup expected to be fourth!

A round of applause, too, for former Celtic favourite Rab Douglas who, at the age of 43 and now playing for Forfar, was voted as top keeper in League One. Rumour has it that after a recent assault on the big man during a match at Airdrie, the rogue is likely to get away scot free as big Rab has dropped the charges! Boom, boom!
And, whisper it, a team from Govan did not get a single player in the Championship selection.  None from eleven! Who picked they team? They will be asking for names!
Click Here for Comments >

About Author