CALLUM McGREGOR will lead out Celtic for the first time since early October when the champions face Aberdeen at Pittodrie this afternoon.

The inspirational skipper has missed 11 games since hirpling off with a knee injury in the Champions League match against RB Leipzig in Germany.

McGregor, 29, came through last weekend’s bounce game against Rennes in Portugal without any problems and has been given the nod by Ange Postecoglou to reume his role in the team’s engine room.

This is the second time the teams have locked horns this season with the Hoops winning 2-0 in the other one at the start of the crusade at Parkhead on July 31 when Stephen Welsh and Filipe Jota were on target.

TEAM: Hart; Ralston, Carter-Vickers, Starfelt, Taylor; O’Riley, McGregor, Hatate; Jota, Kyogo, Maeda. Subs: Siegrist, Jenz, Giakoumakis, Abada, Mooy, Turnbull, Bernabei, Forrest, Lawal.

CUP WINNER…Joe Miller races away after firing the game’s only goal past Rangers keeper Chris Woods to lift the Scottish Cup on May 20 1989. (See question 4)

CUP WINNER…Ryan Christie flashes the ball past Aberdeen keeper Joe Lewis in the League Cup Final at Hampden on December 2 2018. (See question 5)

Earlier today, we asked you how much you can you remember about past events involving the Pittodrie outfit in our new CQN fun five-minute quiz to test your knowledge.


1: Who scored the opening goal in Celtic’s 2-1 win over the Dons on October 3 last year?

2: Which Celtic player scored a debut goal against the north east outfit in the Hoops’ 3-2 victory on February 9 this year?

3: Celtic sealed their eighth successive title with a 3-0 triumph at Pittodrie on May 4 2019. Can you name the goalscorers?

4: Billy McNeill signed an Aberdeen player in November 1987 who went on to score the Scottish Cup Final winner two years later. Can you remember his name?

5: Celtic loaned a player to the Dons for 18 months. He returned to Parkhead and netted a Cup Final winner against the Pittodrie side. Can you name him?


1: Kyogo Furuhashi.

2: Matt O’Riley.

3: Mikael Lustig, Jozo Simunovic and Odsonne Edouard.

4: Joe Miller who netted the Scottish Cup winner against Graeme Souness’ Ibrox side on May 20 1989.

5: Ryan Christie who scored the only goal of the League Cup success on December 2 2018.

* DON’T miss the unbeatable match report from Aberdeen v Celtic this afternoon – only in your champion CQN.

Click Here for Comments >

About Author