ANGE POSTECOGLOU has won the Scottish Football Writers’ Association’s Manager of the Year award.

The Celtic gaffer has already won the top boss award from the his fellow-professionals to claim the double in his debut season in Scotland.

Postecoglou led the Hoops to a 4-1 victory over Hearts at Parkhead yesterday to give them a nine-point advantage with only two games to play. The title is all but assured and could be cemented against Dundee United at Tannadice on Wednesday night before the curtain comes down on an enthralling campaign on Saturday when Motherwell visit Paradise.

Of course, there is a chance the Greek-Australian could be celebrating a flag victory later today if Giovanni van Bronckhorst’s side fail to beat the Tayside outfit at Ibrox this afternoon.

Postecoglou won the award with Scotland’s Steve Clarke, Malky Mackay (Ross County), Robbie Neilson (Hearts) and Dick Campbell (Arbroath) also nominated for the top honour.

A statement from the SFWA read: “The Greek-Australian has done a terrific job rebuilding Celtic to take them to the brink of the title, having already won the League Cup back in December.

“It has been a remarkable 30-game unbeaten that has taken Postecoglou to the brink of glory.”

Click Here for Comments >

About Author