OLYMPIAKOS, Club Brugge, Shakhtar Donetsk and Bayer Leverkusen have exited the Champions League to take their places in Monday’s Europa last-32 draw which will be made in Nyon at midday.

They join Celtic in February’s knock-out stages of the competition with Ajax, RB Salzburg, Inter Milan and Benfica already dropping out of Europe’s elite competition on Tuesday night.

The Champions League third-placed teams are expected to be split in two with the four clubs with the best record joining the Hoops in the seeded section.

Shakhter Donetsk are the surprise inclusion in the Europa tournament after being shocked 3-0 at home last night by the so-called no-hopers of Atalanta. The Italians lost the first three games in their Group C, but came back to pip the Russians by one point to become the first club to qualify after such a disastrous start.

* DON’T miss the unbeatable match report from Cluj v Celtic this evening – only in your champion CQN.


Click Here for Comments >

About Author