CELTIC made all sorts of history when they overcame Hearts in their dramatic Scottish Cup Final penalty-kick shoot-out at Hampden on Sunday.

It was well chronicled the Hoops had claimed their twelfth consecutive domestic honour following their 4-3 success from the spot after their 3-3 extra-time deadlock with the battling Edinburgh outfit.

The unprecedented quadruple treble had been achieved and it is a world record unlikely to be equalled never mind surpassed.

Almost unnoticed, the Hoops also annexed their fourth Scottish Cup and that is another first for the Parkhead men.

CQN has looked at those four memorable Cup Final successes and, remarkably, only six players of the 18 stripped for action for the first triumph over Aberdeen at rain-lashed Hampden in 2017 are still at the club.

Step forward, the evergreen Scott Brown, last-gasp matchwinner Tom Rogic, Callum McGregor, Leigh Griffiths, James Forrest and Nir Bitton.

Here are the teams and results that have placed Celtic into glorious football folklore yet again.

MAY 27 2017


Armstrong (11), Rogic (90+2)

Gordon; Lustig, Simunovic, Boyata, Tierney (sub: Rogic 27); Brown, McGregor; Roberts (sub: Sviatchenko 94), Armstrong, Sinclair; Griffiths. Unused subs: De Vries, Bitton, Dembele, Gamboa, Forrest.

Referee: Bobby Madden

Attendance: 48,713
MAY 19 2018


McGregor (11), Ntcham (25)

Gordon; Lustig, Boyata, Ajer (sub: Simunovic 76) Tierney; Brown, McGregor; Forrest (sub: Sinclair 90), Rogic (sub: Armstrong 72), Ntcham; Dembele. Unused subs: Bain, Roberts, Griffiths, Kouassi.

Referee: Kevin Clancy

Attendance: 49,967

MAY 25 2019


Edouard (62 pen, 82)

Bain; Lustig, Simunovic, Ajer, Hayes (sub: Bitton 89); Brown, McGregor; Forrest, Rogic (sub: Ntcham 70), Johnston (Sinclair 72); Edouard. Unused subs: De Vries, Toljan, Benkovic, Dembele.

Referee: Willie Collum

Attendance: 49,434

DECEMBER 20 2020

CELTIC 3 HEARTS 3 (AET: 4-3 on pens)

Christie (19), Edouard (29 pen), Griffiths (105+1)

Pens: Griffiths, McGregor, Johnston, Ajer,

Hazard; Ajer, jullien, Duffy (sub: Johnston 91), Taylor (sub: Laxalt 83); Brown (sub: Soro 106), McGregor; Christie, Turnbull (sub: Rogic 68), Elyounoussi (sub: Frimpong 83); Edouard (sub: Griffiths 97). Unused subs: Barkas, Bitton, Klimala.

Referee: John Beaton

* CQN wishes all our readers a very Merry Christmas and hope it is a special one for you and yours. Take care and stay safe, folks.

Click Here for Comments >

About Author