STEFAN Johansen was last night named as Celtic’s Player of the Year, just a matter of weeks after winning the CQN Player of the Year.

The Norwegian attacking midfielder picked up the prestigious award at Glasgow’s Thistle Hotel in front  of an invited audience from the club and supporters.

Johansen has scored twelve goals this season and has been impressive since particularly since being pushed further forward by Ronny Deila. The popular Norwegian also shared the Players’ Player of the Year award with club skipper Scott Brown who has enjoyed an inspirational season alongside the impressive Nir Bitton.

Not surprisingly  yesterday’s hat-trick hero Leigh Griffiths picked up the top goalscorer award. Griffiths’ haul at Tannadice has taken his total to 18 for the season so far and a target for the ex-Hibs player of 25 goals this season should not be an unrealistic one.

Bitton was beaten to the Young Player of the Year  by Jason Denayer who is also favorite to win the PFA Scotland Young Player of the Year. Denayer also raised hopes of the Celtic support that he may well be at Celtic next season, expressing at the weekend a willingness to head back to Parkhead for a second season in the Hoops.

In other awards dished out last night, Kelly Clark won the inaugural Women’s Player of the Year award and Development Squad captain Eoghan O’Connell picked up the Academy Player of the Year for of his efforts for both the Development Squad and the first team this season. Celtic have high hopes for this Bhoy.

Kris Commons got his usual Goal of the Season award for his goal in the League Cup semi final against lower league opposition while Eric Riley was given a special recognition award for his services to the club.


Player of the Year: STEFAN JOHANSEN

Players’ Player of the Year: Stefan Johansen and Scott Brown

Young Player of the Year: Jason Denayer

Academy Player of the Year: Eoghan O’Connell

Women’s Player of the Year: Kelly Clark

Goal of the Season: Kris Commons

Top Goalscorer: Leigh Griffiths

Special Recognition: Eric J. Riley

Click Here for Comments >

About Author