SCOTT BROWN scooped another trophy last night when he was named PFA Scotland Player of the Year.

It was a double celebration for the Celtic midfielder after captaining the Hoops to their seventh successive Premiership title with a 5-0 rout of Graeme Murty’s Ibrox side earlier in the day.

The Parkhead skipper became only the second player to claim the award for a second time, following club legend Henrik Larsson.

Brown’s previous success was nine years ago and the recognition from his fellow-professionals is reward for his consistency since Brendan Rodgers arrived in the summer of 2016.

The 32-year-old has made 53 appearances for club and country this season, although he retired from Scotland duty before Alex McLeish’s first match in charge last month.

Brown beat team-mate James Forrest, Hibs midfielder John McGinn and Kilmarnock striker Kris Boyd to the honour.

Kieran Tierney claimed the Young Player award along with goal of the season, but St Mirren’s Jack Ross prevented a Celtic clean sweep by collecting the Manager of the Year prize.

The Scotland international left-back became  the first to win the Young Player award for a third time, coming out on top amid competition from Aberdeen defender Scott McKenna, Ibrox frontman Alfredo Morelos and St Mirren’s Celtic-bound winger Lewis Morgan.

The 20-year-old also won Goal of the Year for his 40-yard strike in the 5-0 hammering of Kilmarnock in the League Cup at Parkhead in August.

Neither Brown nor Tierney were present at the awards dinner in Glasgow as they had flown out for a foreign break with their team-mates.

Rodgers, on the brink of making history by guiding Celtic to back-to-back trebles, missed out on the manager award to Ross, who led St Mirren to the Championship title this season, 18 months after taking over with the club bottom of the division.

Kilmarnock’s Steve Clarke and Neil Lennon, of Hibs, were also on the shortlist.

Lewis Morgan, who joined the Hoops from St Mirren for £300,000 in January before being loaned back to the Paisley side, Ayr striker Lawrence Shankland and Stirling Albion midfielder Darren Smith won the divisional player awards.


2007/08: Aiden McGeady

2008/09: Scott Brown

2010/11: Emilio Izaguirre

2011/12: Charlie Mulgrew

2013/14: Kris Commons

2014/15: Stefan Johansen

2015/16: Leigh Griffiths

2016/17: Scott Sincair

Read more from Celtic Quick News …

Catch up with Pau67’s Blog here …

Click Here for Comments >

About Author