EIGHT Celtic players have been voted into the Premiership Team of the Year – with inspirational skipper Scott Brown NOT included!

The 34-year-old onfield leader of the record-equalling nine-in-a-row champions was overlooked while there were slots for keeper Fraser Forster and three of the Parkhead side’s back four – Jeremie Frimpong, Christopher Jullien and Kristoffer Ajer.

James Forrest, Callum McGregor and Mohamed Elyounoussi got the nod for three places in a midfield four with Brown on the sidelines along with the likes of Ryan Christie and Tom Rogic, who had injury-interrupted campaigns.

Up front, Odsonne Edouard, Celtic’s Player of the Year, leads the line alongside Alfredo Morelos of Steven Gerrard’s Ibrox club. The Colombian’s team-mates Borna Barisic, at left-back, and Ryan Jack, in an anchorman role, also got slots in the line-up.

In formation, the line-up is: Forster; Frimpong, Ajer, Jullien, Barisic; Forrest, Jack, McGregor, Elyounoussi; Edouard and Morelos.

Twenty-eight-goal Edouard was also awarded the Striker of the Season honour by the supporters when they voted in the classy Frenchman’s favour, according to a report in the Evening Times.

The Hoops hitman received 46 per cent of the ballot while 500,000 votes were cast over the past fortnight. Morelos received 40 per cent while Edouard’s club colleague Leigh Griffiths and Motherwell’s Chris Long also got a mention.

Click Here for Comments >

About Author