HOLDERS Celtic will have to play their Premier Sports League Cup quarter-final against Motherwell at Fir Park on Wednesday October 19 – with a 6.15pm kick-off.

Ange Postecoglou’s side have seen their start brought forward to accommodate the tie between Giovanni van Bronckhorst’s team and Dundee on the same evening which will have an 8.15 commencement.

Well have hit out at the scheduling of the kick-off – and insist Celtic aren’t happy, either.

CAPTAIN’S ROLE…Callum McGregor celebrates after hitting the opening goal in the 4-1 Premier Sports League Cup win over Ross County in Dingwall. Moritz Jenz, Aaron Mooy and Daizen Maeda join in.

Premier Sports, who are also the main sponsor for the trophy, have decided to put both Glasgow teams on the same evening with back-to-back live games on the satellite channel.

Alan Burrows, the Lanarkshire club’s chief executive, said it isn’t fair on either set of supporters and he also revealed his club asked the broadcasters to run their game at the same time as the Ibrox tie on another channel.

Burrows, speaking to the Daily Record, said: “Both Motherwell and Celtic raised concerns around the kick-off time based on the difficulties it will present to supporters wishing to attend the match.

“We asked the broadcaster to consider having the two live matches, scheduled for that day, run simultaneously on different channels.

“However, we have been informed that this is not possible due to other contractual commitments and no other arrangement are possible.

“Whilst we an extremely keen to work with our broadcast partners and commercial sponsors to ensure they get maximum value for their investment in Scottish football, it’s a far from ideal scenario for fans of both clubs.

“We have been reassured that the circumstances surrounding this particular scheduling are extremely rare and unlikely to happen again.”


Tuesday, October 18: Kilmarnock v Dundee United (7.45pm)

Wednesday, October 19: Motherwell v CELTIC (6.15pm);

Rangers v Dundee (8.15pm)

Click Here for Comments >

About Author