HOW did you get on in CQN‘s Bumper Christmas Quiz when we asked the questions yesterday?

We posed 10 queries to test your knowledge of how the champions are faring at home and abroad this season.

Now we provide the answers. Check and see how you scored!


1: Who scored Celtic’s first Premiership goal of the season?

2: True or false: Joe Hart has played in every Celtic game this season?

3: In August, Celtic went back-to-back games without scoring. Who were the teams who shut them out?

4: Who scored the only goal of the game when the champions triumphed at Ibrox on September 3?

5: True or false: Alexandro Bernabei, Odin Holm and Yang Hyun-gyu all made their Glasgow derby debuts at Ibrox in the same game?

BREAKTHROUGH STRIKE…Tomoki Iwata fires in Celtic’s fourth in the 4-1 win against Hearts – his first strike for the champions. (See Question 8.)

6: Which new Bhoy scored his first goal for the club in the 2-1 win over Motherwell at Fir Park on September 30?

7: Three Celtic players have missed penalty-kicks this season. Can you name them?

8: Who scored his first goal for the Hoops in the 4-1 success over Hearts at Tynecastle on October 22?

9: James Forrest claimed the Hoops’ final strike in the 3-0 win over Ross County in Dingwall on November 4. What was so special about the goal?

10: Who scored the goals in Cetic’s 2-1 Champions League victory over Feyenoord at Parkhead on December 13?

HEAVENS ABOVE…Luis Palma celebrates his first goal for Celtic in the 2-1 win over Motherwell at Fir Park. (See Question 6.)


1: David Turnbull with a penalty-kick in the 4-2 win over Ross County at Parkhead on August 5.

2: False. Joe Hart was suspended and replaced by Scott Bain in the 2-1 win over Motherwell at Fir Park on September 30.

3: Kilmarnock and St Johnstone.

4: Kyogo Furuhashi.

5:  True. All three – Bernabei, Holm and Yang – were introduced as second-half substitutes.

6: Luis Palma.

7: David Turnbull (v St Mirren), Reo Hatate (v Hearts) and Luis Palma (v Motherwell).

8: Tomoki Iwata.

9: It marked James Forrest’s sequence of scoring in 15 successive seasons.

10: Luis Palma (pen), Gustaf Lagerbielke.

Well done if you got 10 out of 10. Go to the top of the class!

* FAIRYTALE OF NEWCO (with apologies to Shane McGowan)

*CQN wishes all our readers the compliments of the Festive season. Have a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year, folks!

Click Here for Comments >

About Author