DAVID TURNBULL was the last Celtic player to score a goal against St Mirren in Paisley – NINETEEN months ago.

The stylish Scotland international playmaker claimed the final goal in a 4-0 Premiership win back on February 10 2021.

Neil Lennon departed the managerial position 13 days later when he paid the ultimate price for an awful season as the team toppled to a succession of unnaceptable defeats at home and abroad.

The Irishman, in his second term as Hoops gaffer, exited Parkhead 24 hours after a 1-0 loss to relegation-threatened Ross County in Dingwall.

CELTIC NO MORE…long-serving skipper Scott Brown battles for the ball against St Mirren.

In Paisley, though, there was no mistake from the visitors after Tom Rogic had opened the scoring in the 16th minute with a deft finish following a typical shimmy coming in off the right wing.

It remained that way until the Hoops rattled in three in four devastating minutes. Odsonne Edouard kicked off the blitz with a fine penalty-kick in the 79th minute, Ryan Christie sent a flashing drive past the helpless Jak Alnwick and Turnbull applied a killer touch from close range for No.4.

Remarkably, the former Motherwell midfielder is the only scorer of the goals that evening who is still at the club.

CELTIC NO MORE…Patryk Klimala, Tom Rogic and Jonjoe Kenny congratulate Ryan Christie after the third goal.

CELTIC NO MORE…Odsonne Edouard is congratulated by Shane Duffy with Kristoffer Ajer about to join in. 

Edouard and Christie headed for the exit five months later and Rogic bade an emotional farewell on May 14 this year after the 6-0 victory over Motherwell at a packed Parkhead when Ange Postecoglou, Lennon’s successor, picked up his first title, the club’s tenth crown in 11 years.

It has been a period of upheaval for the champions and, amazingly, only five of the 20-man squad stripped for that match against Saints will be available for the noon clash today.

There has been a parade of players leaving the club during a massive transitional period.

YIPPEE, WE’RE STILL HERE…Greg Taylor says well done to David Turnbull after the fourth goal.

Here is the full list of the comings and goings in a hectic 19-month period:


Scott Brown (Aberdeen, now Fleetwood Town manager), Kristoffer Ajer (Brentford), Tom Rogic (West Brom), Odsonne Edouard (Crystal Palace), Leigh Griffiths (unattached), Patryk Klimala (New York Red Bulls), Ryan Christie (Bournemouth).


Shane Duffy (Brighton), Jonjoe Kenny (Everton), Diego Laxalt (AC Milan) and Mohamed Elyounoussi (Southampton).


Vasilis Barkas (FC Utrecht), Ismaila Soro (FC Arouca), Albian Ajeti (Sturm Graz) and Mikey Johnston (Vitoria Guimaraes).


Callum McGregor, Scott Bain, Steven Welsh, Greg Taylor and David Turnbull.

TEAM: Bain; Kenny, Welsh (sub: Duffy 68), Ajer, Taylor; Brown, Turnbull (sub: Elyounoussi 85), Rogic (sub: Griffiths 85), McGregor; Edouard (sub: Klimala 80), Ajeti (sub: Christie 68).

* DON’T miss the unbeatable match report and best action images from St Mirren v Celtic this afternoon – only in your champion CQN.

Click Here for Comments >

About Author