CELTIC will attempt to make history as they go for a tenth successive title in a Premiership continuing to consist of 12 teams.

Moves for league reconstruction and a top flight of 14 clubs were scuppered today after a crucial ballot at Hampden, according to a report on Sky Sports News.

Hearts’ relegation to the Championship has now been confirmed after only 16 clubs indicated that they would vote for a league revamp next season.

The SPFL bosses announced that only 16 of the 42 clubs had supported a plan for an expanded top division in an informal vote.

The Tynecastle side, Partick Thistle and Stranraer have now officially been demoted from the respective leagues.

The statement confirmed the SPFL board had “agreed to draw a line under reconstruction talks”.

It was also noted that Championship clubs had approved a shortened 27-game season, which is expected to kick off on October 17.

Neil Lennon’s nine-in-a-row champions are preparing for an August 1 kick-off to the Premiership and the Hampden chiefs now hope to be in a position soon to issue fixtures for the forthcoming campaign.

Click Here for Comments >

About Author